Keep Calm & Take Compliments

I’ve realized – actually, I’ve known this about myself for a while, but bear with me – that I’m incredibly awkward and not the best at taking compliments. It’s not a self deprecating thing! But compliments slash attention, for me, result in sweating and saying stupid things.

tumblr_lrvh09NuQl1qbmqmvo2_500

Here’s an example…

The other day at work this guy in my office said my eyes matched my dress perfectly. Now, I happened to be wearing a lovely blue and white dress, so of course this was a compliment.

But do you know what I said?

“Is that a good thing?”

I repeat,  “IS THAT A GOOD THING?”

Are you kidding me, Zee? 

tumblr_m3kbdnUBLF1rqfhi2o1_250

And, yes, I started sweating, too.

7 thoughts on “Keep Calm & Take Compliments

  1. Ha ha! An Irish guy I once met told me that my eyes were the same colour as his tractor – I was like ‘what, green with muddy patches?’ I didn’t take it as a compliment ;)

Leave a Reply

